Princess Panties

Doors at St. Patrick’s Cathedral in NYC

“Mommy! You’re wearing princess panties?!??!??” My daughter’s squeal of delight reverberated off of the metal walls of the stall. 

She stared in awe.

The overly crowded movie theater bathroom seemed to fall deathly silent in an instant.

“Shhhhhh!”

“Mommy. They are so beautiful! I want some.” She reached out reverentially to touch them as I hovered over the toilet seat doing my business. I swatted her hand away.

“Not until you are much, much older.”

We washed our hands then headed back out into the hallway where her brother and her dad and the dozens other men were standing, waiting on their female companions.

“Daddy! Daddy!” she called loudly as she skipped happily over to him. “Did you know Mom is wearing princess panties?”

So much for the element of surprise.

And from that moment forward, my lacy underwear was known as “princess panties.”

141 thoughts on “Princess Panties

  1. Though I have not personally heard it, I know of an old lady (now no more) who apparently maintained that underwear should always be of the highest quality since you can never predict when a situation might arise (death, medical, etc.) when someone else may see your underwear.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That has been the wisdom apparently, passed down from generations. Though my mother and grandmother never said such to me the fact that *someone* said means it is always there at the back of my mind, that what if. Though, if I am ever in a car accident and have to have a set of undies from Agent Provocateur cut off of my body I would weep for days when I regained consciousness… 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

