Changing Times

Fall colors on the water

I love the fall. I love the colors, the pumpkins, the hint of cooler weather. I love the baking, wearing sweaters, fires in the fire place. I do not, however, love the time change.

Who likes it? That’s what I want to know. And if everyone hates it so much, why the hell hasn’t anyone changed it?!?!!??! Every year we all complain. There are news articles decrying the needlessness of it. And yet, it still happens. 

The dreaded “Fall Back”…

So, the time change alone is bad enough by itself but this year I also forgot to turn back my kids’ clocks so their alarms went off an hour too early yesterday morning. Gah. Who can remember to turn back ALL of their clocks? Worse? It was dark by the time I left work to go pick them up from school. 

Cranky kids. 

Cranky mom. 

For the next few months I will exist in a disorienting cave of darkness, a fugue state of sorts, confined to a building during daylight hours. My brain does not like this. It craves the feeling of sunlight on my skin, the deep red glow of sun filtered through closed eyelids. I find that this matters more and more to me each fall and winter. 

Bottom line? Gaining an hour of sleep is a farce. We don’t get more rest. We don’t have more energy. It is all a sorry pack of lies we tell ourselves every dang year. 

116 thoughts on “Changing Times

  1. True. But time change to me is always a fond memory. I was in the Army the year it was implemented. and on the night of the change back we’d been in maneuvers for days and days. Exhausted. As night fell, sentries were designated to guard the “perimeter” (a Normandy field), I crept in my sleeping bag under the stars thinking: “One more hour sleep tonight! Yeah!” 😉
    Have a great week-end Victoire.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

