Music to My Ears

River in the fall

“Your son has a lovely boy soprano voice. I would like for him to sing a solo at the Christmas program….”

“Mom! I get to sing! In front of everyone. She said I have a gift!” He beamed as he scrambled into his seat. 

I reread the note several times over the rest of the evening. My kid is special! Isnโ€™t that what every parent longs to hear? And yet there was part of me that felt sad. Music might very well be the thing that takes him away from me. 

He is so brave, getting up in front of people to put himself on display like that. I would have been paralyzed by the prospect at his age. 

“You know there are boys choirs that travel all over the world,” I offered tentatively, imagining his sweet face singing Ave Maria on television. 

He loves music so much. He is playing piano in second grade at the level I was at when I was in junior high. It comes naturally to him somehow.

“I want to share my gift, Mom, but I donโ€™t want to be away from you and dad.” He started to tear up. “I like being with my family…”

More than anything else, more than hearing that someone thinks my child has the voice of an angel, what I am most proud of is that my kid feels loved enough that he wants to hang with his family. 

He will spread his wings and fly off soon enough but he knows that he will always have a safe place to come back to. Well. At least until he turns 18. That is how I know that all of the difficult choices and sacrifices I have made are worth something. 

My kid feels whole.

That is the best gift of all. 

75 thoughts on “Music to My Ears

  1. Yes, indeed, music to a mother’s ears. I also have a musical son, whose music did take him away off and on for years. Luckily for me, we still have a very close and loving relationship. I wish the same to you. Sounds as if you’re off to a very good start!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. When he was very young, my older son was told not to sing by his teacher because he had a bad voice. She silence him and it was crushing to him. She was wrong. Listen to him now. He sings the main part of the song and our younger son sings the “he’s the Quarter Man”.
    Leslie

    Liked by 1 person

  3. How wonderful! I canโ€™t sing to save my life, so I admire this so much. Two of my grandchildren are very loud and cannot carry a tune, alas. The other two are slightly better and one is learning the piano. Enjoy it, and well done him!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. a love of life and the things they enjoy may someday take our children to different places, but you created a home that your son loves. Whatever blessings he finds in life, will always begin right there.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. He will spread his wings and fly off soon enough but he knows that he will always have a safe place to come back to. Well. At least until he turns 18. That is how I know that all of the difficult choices and sacrifices I have made are worth something.

    I feel the same way every time I look at my Grandson.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Roots and wings. You hit the nail on the head. Thank goodness you โ€œget itโ€, as most parentโ€™s donโ€™t. You are a role model, and therefore your son will achieve, whatever that dream is to him.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I don’t know if Google Translates Australian but it should be pretty obvious. Anyway that’s bloody magic. I kin see why y’d be stoked. Anyone ‘d hafta be away with th’ pixies not t’ see he’s worth keep’n. Y’ wouldn’ swap him for a truck load of prime cattle. That’s f’ sure.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I think one of the hardest part of raising my angels was knowing I was raising them to leave the nest and make the best of there own lives. Still pulls at my heart strings, I am finding that the older I get the more I find myself reminiscing within my mind of the times gone by, the first time there little eyes looked up and saw me. The late nights of rocking a colicky baby.. watching them wave good bye one the first day of school. I never left the parking lot the first day I took my daughter to school. LOL that was the day I started volunteering…LOL that went on for years,,, enjoy your little ones because its true, they fly away sooner than you want…thanks for taking me back down memory lane this morning…tears are running down my cheeks, missing my babies….she is 40 and my son is 30…..xxxxkat

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

